Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Renaud Capuçon, the Modigliani Quartet and David Kadouch play Franck, Ravel, and Chausson Rencontres Musicales d’Évian 2016

Rencontres Musicales d’Évian 2016

Renaud Capuçon, the Modigliani Quartet and David Kadouch play Franck, Ravel, and Chausson Rencontres Musicales d’Évian 2016


In 2016, the expertise of the superstar French violinist Renaud Capuçon and the virtuosity of the brilliant David Kadouch joined forces with the Quartet for a seductive, all-French program. They opened the concert with  César Franck’s Violin Sonata, a jewel of the violin repertoire given as a wedding present to the composer’s friend, virtuoso Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe, in 1886. Next, the Modigliani Quartet performs Ravel’s String Quartet with incredible skill and finesse. One of the composer’s early works, it is now beloved as one of the great masterpieces of the quartet repertoire. Capuçon and Kadouch return to the stage to close the program by performing a truly unique masterpiece with the Quartet: Ernest Chausson’s Concerto for violin, piano, and strings (also dedicated to Ysaÿe, several years after Franck’s Sonata).

Every spring, the luxurious Evian Resort opens its doors for the Rencontres musicales d’Évian, a music festival that celebrates chamber music. Founded by the celebrated cellist Rostropovich, the exciting musical undertaking has been in the hands of the Modigliani Quartet since 2014.


  • Modigliani Quartet
  • Philippe Bernhard | Violinist
  • Loïc Rio | Violinist
  • Laurent Marfaing | Violist
  • François Kieffer | Cellist


  • César Franck, Sonata for Violin and Piano in A Major, FWV 8
    • 1. Allegretto ben moderato
    • 2. Allegro
    • 3. Recitativo-Fantasia. Ben moderato – Molto lento – A tempo moderato – Molto lento e mesto
    • 4. Allegretto poco mosso
  • Maurice Ravel, String Quartet in F Major, M. 35
    • 1. Allegro moderato. Très doux
    • 2. Assez vif. Très rythmé
    • 3. Très lent
    • 4. Vif et agité
  • Ernest Chausson, Concert for Violin, Piano, and String Quartet in D Major, Op. 21
    • 1. Décidé—Calme—Animé
    • 2. Sicilienne: Pas vite
    • 3. Grave
    • 4. Finale: Très animé


  • Directed by:
    • David Daurier
  • Venue: La Grange au Lac (Évian, France)
  • Production date: 2016
  • Duration: 1 h 44 min
  • Production: © Bel Air Media, Les Rencontres musicales d'Évian
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like

More info coming soon!
Martha Argerich, Nelson Freire, Renaud Capuçon play Bartók's sonatas
More info coming soon!
Renaud Capuçon plays Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto
More info coming soon!
David Kadouch plays Liszt, Medtner, Taneyev, and Chopin