Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Martha Argerich and Lahav Shani perform piano duets by Rachmaninov, Ravel, Bach, and Tchaikovsky Konzerthaus Dortmund

Konzerthaus Dortmund

Martha Argerich and Lahav Shani perform piano duets by Rachmaninov, Ravel, Bach, and Tchaikovsky Konzerthaus Dortmund


Piano lovers, enjoy this extraordinary event from the Konzerthaus Dortmund: living legend Martha Argerich joins maestro and piano virtuoso Lahav Shani for a riveting series of Russian and French piano duets! They'll begin with Rachmaninov's bold and lyrical Suite No. 2 for Two Pianos, and then perform two of Ravel's most cherished works: Ma Mère l'Oye (Mother Goose), as enchanting as ever in this piano four-hands arrangement, and the irresistible and multi-layered La Valse. Argerich stopped performing solo recitals in the 1980s and only takes the stage with close friends and trusted colleagues—so you know you're in for something special as she and Shani write another chapter in their celebrated artistic collaboration!

Photos: Lahav Shani © Marco Borggreve / Martha Argerich © Adriano Heitman

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on medici.tv, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!



  • Sergei Prokofiev / Rikuya Terashima, Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25 "Classical" (version for two pianos)
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Larghetto
    • 3. Gavotta: Non troppo allegro
    • 4. Finale: Molto vivace
  • Sergei Rachmaninov, Suite for two pianos No. 2, Op. 17
    • I. Introduction. Alla marcia
    • II. Valse. Presto
    • III. Romance. Andantino
    • IV. Tarantelle. Presto
  • Maurice Ravel, Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose), version for piano four hands
    • I. Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant – Lent
    • II. Petit Poucet – Très modéré
    • III. Laideronnette, Impératrice des Pagodes – Mouvement de marche
    • IV. Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bête – Mouvement de valse très modéré
    • V. Le Jardin féerique – Lent et grave
  • Maurice Ravel, La valse (for two pianos)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach / György Kurtág, Cantata "Gottes Zeit ist der Zeit allerbeste," BWV 106: Sonatina (Arr. for piano four hands)
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky / Nicolas Economou, Suite from "The Nutcracker", Op. 71a: III. Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy (Arr. for Two Pianos)


  • Venue: Konzerthaus Dortmund (Dortmund, Germany)
  • Production date: 2023
  • Duration: 1 h 29 min
  • Production: © Konzerthaus Dortmund
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like

More info coming soon!
Lahav Shani conducts Prokofiev and Rachmaninov — With Martha Argerich
More info coming soon!
Lahav Shani conducts Beethoven and Brahms — With Martha Argerich