Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Zubin Mehta conducts Mozart and Webern Münchner Philharmoniker

Münchner Philharmoniker

Zubin Mehta conducts Mozart and Webern Münchner Philharmoniker


The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra's divine concert opens with Anton Webern's Six Pieces for Orchestra, conducted by the formidable Zubin Mehta. This distinctive work reveals the delicate, refined style of the Austrian composer, who had been a pupil of Arnold Schoenberg. Next on the program is Mozart’s famous Symphony No. 40, a stark contrast to Webern’s poetic melodies. Bursting with drama and graceful harmonies, this classical masterpiece closes out the evening with a brilliant performance by the orchestra, under the baton of the legendary maestro.


  • Anton Webern, Six Orchestral pieces, Op. 6
    • 1. Etwas bewegt
    • 2. Bewegt
    • 3. Zart bewegt
    • 4. Langsam, marcia funebre
    • 5. Sehr langsam
    • 6. Zart bewegt
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K. 550
    • 1. Allegro molto
    • 2. Andante
    • 3. Menuetto: Allegretto – Trio
    • 4. Allegro assai


  • Directed by:
    • János Darvas
  • Venue: Munich Philharmonie im Gasteig (Munich, Germany)
  • Production date: 1995
  • Duration: 40 min
  • Production: © Metropolitan
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like

More info coming soon!
Verdi's Il Trovatore
Verdi's Il Trovatore

Cesare Lievi (stage director), Zubin Mehta (con...