Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Artur Papazian plays Chopin's Préludes Piano recital at Carnegie Hall

Piano recital at Carnegie Hall

Artur Papazian plays Chopin's Préludes Piano recital at Carnegie Hall


Carnegie Hall concert of the legendary Armenian pianist.

In the spring of 1985, the gifted yound Armenian pianist Artur Papazian made his Carnegie Hall debut with a recital described in the New York Times as "one of the season's most exciting concerts." The following year he appeared on short notice in a Town Hall programme and again the Times was on hand to describe Maestro Papazian and his playing as "splendid." After several years of international concertizing, Mr. Papazian returned to Carnegie Hall on March 28, 1995 with an all-Chopin programme cover and virtual inconceivable to bring off successfully.

Composed between 1835 and 1839, Chopin's Preludes, Op. 28 are 24 short pieces for piano solo drawing their inspiration from Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier. These preludes are based upon the aesthetics of the fragment which emerges in the first half of the 19th century. Unicity witihin the form and the musical discourse is what best characterizes these 28 short masterpieces.

© Picture: Christian Steiner.


  • Artur Papazian | Pianist


  • Frédéric Chopin, 24 Preludes, Op. 28
    • No. 1 in C major
    • No. 2 in A minor
    • No. 3 in G major
    • No. 4 in E minor
    • No. 5 in D major
    • No. 6 in B minor
    • No. 7 in A major
    • No. 8 in F-sharp minor
    • No. 9 in E major
    • No. 10 in C sharp minor
    • No. 11 in B major
    • No. 12 in G sharp minor
    • No. 13 in F sharp major
    • No. 14 in E flat minor
    • No. 15 in D flat major 'Raindrop'
    • No. 16 in B flat minor
    • No. 17 in A flat major
    • No. 18 in F minor
    • No. 19 in E flat major
    • No. 20 in C minor
    • No. 21 in B flat major
    • No. 22 in G minor
    • No. 23 in F major
    • No. 24 in D minor


  • Directed by:
  • Venue: Carnegie Hall (New York, USA)
  • Production date: 1995
  • Duration: 41 min
  • Production: © Peter Rosen Productions, Inc.
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like

More info coming soon!
Jan Lisiecki plays Mozart, Bach, and Chopin — With Christian Zacharias
More info coming soon!
Artur Papazian plays Chopin's Études
Artur Papazian plays Chopin's Études

Piano recital at Carnegie Hall