Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Concours de Genève 2023: String Quartet Final and Awards Ceremony Concours de Genève — International Music Competition

Concours de Genève — International Music Competition

Concours de Genève 2023: String Quartet Final and Awards Ceremony Concours de Genève — International Music Competition


The Concours de Genève - International Music Competition, founded in 1939 as the Concours International d'Exécution Musicale (CIEM), is one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious international music competitions. With the aim to discover, promote, and support young talented artists on the way to an international career, the Concours de Genève also has the distinction of spotlighting different disciplines in every edition. In 2023, string quartets and flutists have the chance to compete for the top prizes!

It's the moment of truth for our three remaining string quartets as audiences worldwide tune in to watch them in a work of their choice on the grand stage of Geneva's Victoria Hall! Enjoy the talents of all three ensembles, and stay tuned to see who will go home with top honors…

Associated event


  • Quartett Hana
  • Fuga Miwatashi | Violinist
  • Gyurim Kwak | Violinist
  • Emiko Yuasa | Violist
  • Johannes Välja | Cellist
  • Quatuor Elmire
  • David Petrlik | Violinist
  • Yoan Brakha | Violinist
  • Hortense Fourrier | Violist
  • Rémi Carlon | Cellist
  • Novo Quartet
  • Kaya Kato Møller | Violinist
  • Nikolai Vasili Nedergaard | Violinist
  • Daniel Śledziński | Violist
  • Signe Ebstrup Bitsch | Cellist


  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, String Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 44, No. 1
    • 1. Molto allegro vivace
    • 2. Menuetto. Un poco allegretto
    • 3. Andante espressivo ma con moto
    • 4. Presto con brio
  • Ludwig van Beethoven, String Quartet No. 8 in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2
    • 1. Allegro
    • 2. Molto adagio, Si tratta questo pezzo con molto di sentimento
    • 3. Allegretto
    • 4. Finale: Presto
  • Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, String Quartet No. 2 in A Minor, Op. 13
    • 1. Adagio – Allegro vivace
    • 2. Adagio non lento
    • 3. Intermezzo
    • 4. Presto – Adagio non lento
  • Award Ceremony


  • Directed by:
    • John Blanch
  • Venue: Victoria Hall (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Broadcast date: Oct. 29, 2023, 2 p.m.
  • Production date: 2023
  • Replay available until: October 28, 2024
  • Duration: 2 h 45 min
  • Production: © Concours de Genève
  • sponsor
Why stop there? The rest of this incredible video is available for free for our guests!

Appears in

You might also like

More info coming soon!
Vladimir Ashkenazy and Daniel Barenboim perform Mozart's Double Concerto in E-flat Major, K. 365
More info coming soon!
Maria João Pires and Sir John Eliot Gardiner perform Schumann's Piano Concerto
More info coming soon!
Behind-the-scenes of the Clara Haskil International Piano Competition