Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Martha Argerich and Mikhail Pletnev perform Schubert, Chopin, and Mozart Le Piano Symphonique Festival 2024

Le Piano Symphonique Festival 2024

Martha Argerich and Mikhail Pletnev perform Schubert, Chopin, and Mozart Le Piano Symphonique Festival 2024


Lucerne’s piano festival Le Piano Symphonique is back with an absolutely thrilling third edition featuring the legendary Martha Argerich in the role of featured artist (pianiste associée)!

The curtain rises on virtuoso Mikhail Pletnev performing Schubert’s Piano Sonata No. 4 in A Minor, an early composition with rich harmonies and emotional contrasts. Next up are Chopin’s 24 Preludes—a romantic tour de force that marks a whirlwind start to this prestigious festival. What better way to continue this opening concert than by joining pianistic forces with Martha Argerich herself? The duo perform Mozart’s enchanting Andante and Five Variations in G Major before concluding with Schubert’s Fantasia in F Minor, described by musicologist Christopher Gibbs as “among not only his [Schubert’s] greatest but his most original” compositions for piano duet.

Photos: Mikhail Pletnev © Alexei Molchanovsky / Martha Argerich © Philipp Schmidli

Associated event

Le Piano Symphonique Festival

Le Piano Symphonique Festival



  • Franz Schubert, Piano Sonata No. 4 in A Minor, D. 537
    • I. Allegro ma non troppo
    • II. Allegretto quasi andantino
    • III. Allegro vivace
  • Frédéric Chopin, 24 Preludes, Op. 28
    • No. 1 in C major
    • No. 2 in A minor
    • No. 3 in G major
    • No. 4 in E minor
    • No. 5 in D major
    • No. 6 in B minor
    • No. 7 in A major
    • No. 8 in F-sharp minor
    • No. 9 in E major
    • No. 10 in C sharp minor
    • No. 11 in B major
    • No. 12 in G sharp minor
    • No. 13 in F sharp major
    • No. 14 in E flat minor
    • No. 15 in D flat major 'Raindrop'
    • No. 16 in B flat minor
    • No. 17 in A flat major
    • No. 18 in F minor
    • No. 19 in E flat major
    • No. 20 in C minor
    • No. 21 in B flat major
    • No. 22 in G minor
    • No. 23 in F major
    • No. 24 in D minor
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Andante and Five Variations for piano four hands in G Major, K. 501
  • Franz Schubert, Fantasie in F Minor for piano four hands, Op. 103, D. 940
  • Johann Sebastian Bach / Ferruccio Busoni, Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565


  • Venue: KKL - Lucerne Festival Hall (Lucerne, Switzerland)
  • Production date: 2024
  • Duration: 1 h 44 min
  • Production: © Luzerner Sinfonieorchester / medici.tv
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like